12 years, 1 painting

Matt's PortraitIf anyone would have told me that I would resume painting again, I would not have taken that bet. I brought my easel back from Toronto last summer with the intent to paint but I never found the time between travel and tennis to produce something. At least twelve years have gone by since I last painted, a self-portrait which still hangs today in my childhood bedroom. Last week, I decided to end the spell and began sketching on a canvas. With Matt’s birthday only days away, I thought it would put me under enough pressure to really test: (1) whether I could still paint; (2) whether I could be happy with what I produced and (3) if I would finish it in time. A few short hours ago, I had an opportunity to present Matt with his very own portrait. I’m happy with how it turned out and hope to devote at least 20 minutes every other day to drawing and painting. To Matt – Happy Early Birthday!

Leave a Reply

