Indian Wells

Once in a while an opportunity comes along that you simply cannot pass up and that’s exactly how I felt about spending last Friday in the desert with our customers, “new” coworkers and future advocates at the BNP Paribas Open in Indian Wells. I cannot thank Heather enough for the opportunity and for inviting me to take part. Not only is she my favorite ‘star-fucker’, but time and time again she has come through for many (including myself). This WTA/ATP tournament has the distinction of being one of the premier events on the tour and is often thought to be the “fifth” grand slam because of the size of the draw and the venue.

Roy Emerson and Adrian Chang (me)

Roy Emerson and Adrian Chang (me)

I have many memories that I will take from my Friday at Indian Wells; none more special than meeting multiple grand slam champion Roy Emerson in the VIP booth. I sat down beside him during the Tsonga-Djokovic match and we got on quite well. It didn’t take him long to figure out that I am a tennis fanatic. We critiqued Tsonga together – it was clear that Mr Emerson felt that Djokovic was on fire and that Tsonga was tanking. “Fight for every point like it’s the second world war” said Mr. Emerson. He also gave me some tips regarding how to follow-up to the net after attempting a drop shot — a new shot for me that I’m starting to work into singles. Mr. Emerson is a bit of a joker; he proceeded to tell people that “Adrian will be leaving Oracle to join my tennis academy full time in Switzerland”. When I say people, I mean customers, Oracle employees and even the President (who can hold court in the humor department as well based on his response to Roy which I won’t disclose).

I will be waiting anxiously for Miami to start, but it will be hard to close the book on Indian. Congratulations to everyone who put on such a great event. Having attended many Rogers Cup events in Toronto for many years, I would argue that it pales in comparison to the scale and experience that I had at Indian Wells. See you on the courts.

Leave a Reply

