Adele and Kanye had my ear in 2011

Adele, already a multiple Grammy Winner, aced the year with her sophomore album 21

Adele’s 21 is a stellar follow-up to her Grammy winning debut 19. I am confident that she will clean up at the Grammy’s in 2012 and I would be surprised if she doesn’t already have a place on her mantle for “Album of the Year” should she beat out the others in her category. The album itself is one long breakup waiting to happen, or has happened and she takes you through all the associated bullshit that comes with. Well done, her voice is on point and I hope she recovers well from her recent operation to continue to make this kind of music.

Kanye West - leads the Grammy nominations but deservedly should have the Album of the Year

As much as I loved 21, I have to give it up to Kanye West and My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy (released in 2010). Not since Lauryn Hill’s Miseducation have I put an album on repeat and committed to listening to it through and through. It plays like one harmonious record, one continuous sermon that plays up excess sex, drugs and rock and roll and does it with the help of various kings and queens in the industry. Monster (Nicki Minaj’s rap is a highlight), All of the Lights, Lost in the World, are tracks that get help from the likes of Rihanna, Elton John, Kid Cudi, Jay-Z, Alicia Keys, Bon Iver, Nicki Minaj nd Fergie to bring this masterpiece together. If I could have changed up the nominee list for Album of the Year, I would have giving it to this album. Great addition to my hip hop collection. I will look back to this one as a classic well beyond 2011.

Leave a Reply

