Motor City 2010

I had the pleasure of competing in my 3rd Motor City Tennis Classic this past weekend in Detroit. This is one of the slickest tournaments on the GLTA circuit. Well organized; open to men and women, queer and queer-friendly; fun social events around the tournament, plus it attracts some of the nicest players you would ever meet when you’re not trying to take a b**** down for the title.

I went into this event having won my opening round in singles at Heart of Texas before falling to the top seed in March, and losing a marathon first round singles match at the Canadian Gay Open. In both doubles matches at both tournaments, I was knocked out in the first round, both straight set beatdowns. I had made it as far as the second round for doubles and third round for singles in all of the tournaments I had played up until last weekend. Granted, I did not win either event, but I left Detroit as a quarterfinalist in singles and semifinalist in doubles, with a hard fought upset of the top seeds in the doubles in our second round match.

I am happy with the tennis that I brought to Detroit. Also, I’m happy to have reconnected with old friends, make new ones and take myself seriously enough to know when to focus and when to have fun. Making it to the last 8 is fun, but I want to be the one with the title. Enjoy the photos – in the meantime, that double down from KFC will have to wait, I’ll need to get ready for the next tournament.

Click here for photos!

All Photos / MCTC Website / Gay and Lesbian Tennis Alliance

Share

Leave a Reply

