Pechakucha Night

Last Tuesday, I was invited by Drew to come check out a Pechakucha night at the Spoke Club. I had never been to the Spoke Club, let alone could pronouce Pechakucha or explain what is means, but by the end of the night not only did I have a firm grasp of the concept, but I was green with envy of those who took the stage.

PechaKucha Night was devised in Tokyo in February 2003 as an event for young designers to meet, network, and show their work in public. It’s designed to promote the arts and showcase work. These types of events were held at bars, swimming pools, and theatres. The Spoke Club and its spirit for the arts made the right venue for this kind of night. Drew was among the performers who took on the 20×20 format (20 slides, 20 seconds) and aimed to change our perspectives on travel photography. I thought he did a fantastic job – and was successful at encouraging the crowd to change their notion of what certain places look like and our motivations for taking pictures of things of the unfamiliar. KV, whom I know personally also presented and highlighted his renewed passion for art. I was probably the most moved by this because I realized that he had found the time to make art fit into his schedule (weekly ritual, Wednesday, among friends). I haven’t picked up a brush in almost 10 years, but after listening to KV’s presentation, I promise to produce a painting before my 30th Birthday.

http://www.pecha-kucha.org/what

Share

Comments

  1. Sounds like a fun experience!

Leave a Reply

