Leslieville, Fathers and my Babolat

I am a new homeowner and as of mid-July I will be among those who call Leslieville ‘home’. The house closed quite quickly and I’ve spent the majority of time inbetween posts handling all of the details. It used to be a cottage in the early 1900s; it has been described as a little house with charm – and I would agree! I’ll post photos once the move is complete. Michael and I are very excited about this chapter in both of our lives. We have discussed the nitty-gritty details (that’s all I’ll say on the matter). Regardless, I am excited about this new adventure and how this experience will impact my life and those around me.

I’m close to playing my best tennis. Switched racquets from Wilson to Babolat – a big switch, but one that I think will enable me to be more consistent and get more pop on my groundstrokes. Even though I am hitting the ball with great power and control, the shots are falling too short, making me susceptible to an attack from my opponent. I’m also moving at a snail’s pace, which means I’m going to have to start jogging again to help increase my speed. No more french fries.

This has been a terrfic year for me and my family. My sister has persevered and graduated from law school. I may very well have met the love of my life. While my mother and I have had differences, we are still quite close. Professionally, I am also continuing to show consistency in my performance and I’m anticipating continued success this year.

It’s very odd that I picked Father’s Day to compose myself for the post. I have said barely a paragraph to my father in 6 years. When asked about it, my answer is the same – there’s no malice, I wish him well, but I do not wish to reestablish contact with him. It’s not something I talk about often, because of my friendship circle and loved ones – many have lost their father’s at a young age and would wish to trade places with me in a heartbeat. I wish all of the proud dad’s out there a Happy Father’s Day. I also hope to be among that group who celebrates the day with his own children one day soon.

Leave a Reply

